‘Tatkal’ extended to Duronto trains,Aadhaar approved as ID proof

New Delhi, 19 December 2011

Existing ‘Tatkal’ Travel Facility to be Extended to Duronto Trains also

As per the official statement released today, the Ministry of Railways, Government of India has taken a decision to extend facility of existing ‘Tatkal’ scheme in all Duronto Express Trains. The facility will become available in all Duronto Express Trains for journeys starting on 1st April, 2012 (from train originating station).

There are 21 Duronto Express trains in service presently in India. The train runs non-stop between two stations end-to-end.

The ministry release said, “Necessary instructions to avail ‘Tatkal’ facility in Duronto train have been issued to all the Zonal Railways.”

It further said that the extent of accommodation and charges to be realized for ‘Tatkal’ accommodation in different classes in Duronto Trains will be the same as applicable to the mail/express trains.

A list of Duronto trains

Sealdah-New Delhi AC
Mumbai-Jaipur Duronto AC
New Delhi – Lucknow AC
New Delhi – Allahabad
Hazrat Nizamuddin – Chennai Central
Hazrat Nizamuddin – Pune AC
Mumbai – Howrah Junction AC
Mumbai – Ahmedabad AC
Mumbai – Nagpur
Howrah – Yeswanthpur
Ernakulam – Hazrat Nizamuddin
Ernalulam – Lokamanya tilak terminus AC
Secunderabad Junction – Hazrat Nizamuddin (New Delhi)
Secunderabad Junction – Lokmanya Tilak Terminus (Mumbai) AC
New Delhi – Howrah Junction
Delhi Sarai Rohilla-Jammu Tawi
Pune – Howrah AC
Chennai-Coimbatore AC
Howrah- Digha AC
Puri – Howrah AC,
New Delhi – Bhubaneshwar

Aadhaar to be accepted as ID proof for E-tickets and Tatkal

In another development, the railway ministry has announced that “Aadhaar” will be accepted now on as additional identity proof for E-ticketing and Tatkal scheme.

The statement issued by ministry said, “as “Aadhaar” is covered under the heading ‘Photo Identity Card Issued by Central/State Government’, the Ministry of Railways has decided to specifically incorporate and indicate “Aadhaar” as one of the proofs of identity acceptable for undertaking journey on e-tickets as well as under Tatkal scheme.”

As per the release, the number of proofs of identity to be accepted for undertaking journey on e-tickets as well as under Tatkal scheme will now become 9 (nine) as mentioned below:

(i) Voter Photo Identity Card issued by Election Commission of India.
(ii) Passport
(iii) PAN Card issued by Income Tax Department
(iv) Driving License issued by RTO
(v) Photo Identity Card issued by Central/State Government
(vi) Student Identity Card with photograph issued by recognized School/college for their students.
(vii) Nationalized Bank Passbook with photograph
(viii) Credit Cards issued by Banks with laminated photograph and
(ix) Unique Identification Card “Aadhaar”