Narendra Modi resigns, Anandiben Patel elected new Chief Minister of Gujarat unopposed

Gandhinagar, 21 May 2014

Gujarat Chief Minister Shri Narendra Modi today submitted his resignation from the post of Chief Minister before Governor of Gujarat at Raj Bhawan in Gandhinagar at around 3.00 pm today.

Soon after that, a meeting of BJP MLAs and leaders was held in Gandhinagar town hall in presence of Narendra Modi, Amit Shah, central party observer Thavarchand Gehlot among others in which Revenue Minister Anandiben Patel was declared leader of BJP in Gujarat assembly unopposed.

Senior minister Bhupendrasinh Chudasama proposed Anandiben’s name which was supported by Amit Shah, Nitin Patel(who is senior to Anandiben in present ministry) Ganpat Vasava and others.

Anandiben was presented a book of Ramayana after her election.

72-year-old Anandiben will take oath as 15th Chief Minister of Gujarat on Thursday at 12.39 pm. She will become the first woman Chief Minister of Gujarat.

error: Content is protected !!