9 assembly seats where Congress received more votes than BJP in Gujarat Lok Sabha election 2019

By Japan K Pathak

Gandhinagar: Out of total 182 assembly seats in Gujarat, 9 seats were such where Congress attracted more votes than BJP. In rest 173 assembly seats, BJP received more votes than Congress in recently concluded general elections of Lok Sabha.

9 seats where Congress candidates received more votes than rival BJP candidates include Vadgam, Jamalpur – Khadia, Danilimda, Kodinar, Jhalod, Dahod, Mandvi, Vyara and Nizar.

Mandvi, Vyara and Nizar – all three seats fall in Bardoli Lok Sabha seat. Congress candidate Dr. Tushar Chaudhary, son of late former Chief Minister Amarsinh Chaudhary received lead in these three tribal populated seats. Chaudhary’s lead in Nizar assembly seat was 3,004 votes while in Vyara and Mandvi seats it was 16,271 and 23,001 respectively. Anand Chaudhary of Congress is MLA of Mandvi while Punabhai Gamit is Congress MLA of Vyara. Another Congress man Sunilbhai Gamit is MLA of Nizar.

Jhalod and Dahod both assembly seats are part of Dahod Lok Sabha seat. Congress candidate Babu Katara received lead in these two assembly segments. Even BJP was aware that Katara was strong in Jhalod seat. Katara’s son is Congress MLA from Jhalod. Katara has headed local APMC in Jhalod. As expected Katara received lead of 24,176 votes in Jhalod. Katara also received minor lead of 1,039 votes in Dahod assembly segment which is located next to Jhalod. Panada Vajesingbhai of Congress is MLA of Dahod.

In Kodinar assembly seat area of Junagadh Lok Sabha, Congress candidate Punjabhai Vansh managed to have 1,630 votes lead over rival BJP candidate Rajesh Chudasama. Mohanlal Vala of Congress is MLA of Kodinar seat.

In Ahmedabad West seat, Congress candidate and former Rajya Sabha member Raju Parmar received lead in Danilimda and Jamalpur-Khadia seats. Both assembly seats have Muslim majority population while Schedule Caste communities have also good presence. Congress lead in Danilimda assembly seat is 15,399 while in Jamalpur-Khadia it is 17,331. Both seats are presently with Congress. Danilimda is reserved seat for Schedule Caste while Jamalpur-Khadia has Muslim MLA of Congress.

Vadgam is another assembly seat where Congress received more votes than BJP. This is because Vadgam has huge Muslim population. Congress candidate of Patan Lok Sabha seat, Jagdish Thakor managed to have 2,516 votes lead in Vadgam assembly seat area. Congress president Rahul Gandhi had gifted this safe seat to controversial communist activist Jignesh Mevani to contest as independent in year 2017 general elections of Gujarat assembly.

It’s worth noting that while in 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP trailed on only 9 assembly seats, in year 2014 Lok Sabha election results, the BJP trailed on 13 assembly seats. In year 2017 assembly elections, BJP trailed in 83 assembly seats.

The assembly seats where Congress had enjoyed lead over BJP in 2014 Lok Sabha elections were Danta, Khedbrahma, Bhiloda, Jamalpur-Khadia, Danilimda, Wankaner, Jasdan, Anklav, Borsad, Petlad, Thasra, Balashinor, Dahod, Chhota Udepur, Mandvi, Vyara and Nizar.


error: Content is protected !!