• Election Commission sends complaint against alleged false affidavits filed by Dhanera MLA Nathabhai Hegolabhai Patel to Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) for probe in response to check alleged discrepancies in his election affidavit
  • Gujarat completes 129.27 per cent rain of normal average monsoon season
  • Inspector Pritesh J Patel's body hit by a bullet from his service revolver found from his car in Sachivalay campus in capital Gandhinagar in suspected case of suicide this morning. Inspector PJ Patel had not returned home last night. He was on duty of Sachivalay complex
  • 20 bills to be moved in Gujarat Assembly Monsoon session starting from September 21. Discussion on coronavirus pandemic situation in the state on the first day's second session for 2.5 hours
  • Unjha APMC Vice Chairman Shivam Rawal dies of Coronavirus infection He was admitted to Ahmedabad based private run Sterling hospital for last over one and half month
  • 1432 new cases of Covid-19 detected in 24 hours ending at 5 pm today in Gujarat as per the latest daily bulletin by the State health department
  • Jamnagar district SP Shweta Shrimali transferred to SRP Group 17 as Commandant; Deepan Bhadran, DCP of Ahmedabad Crime Branch replaces her as SP Jamnagar
  • Polling for election of Banas Dairy's Board of Directors to be held on 19 October
  • De-commissioned INS Viraat, a Centaur Class Aircraft Carrier, which was in service for 30 years, moves out of the Naval Dockyard for a ship-breaking yard at Alang in Gujarat .

Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad and BJP gen sec Arun Singh appointed observers for election of new BJP president in Gujarat

Gandhinagar: Senior BJP leader and Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad and national general secretary Arun Singh have been appointed observers for the election process of the next state president of the ruling party in Gujarat.

Party spokesperson Bharat Pandya today informed that the party has appointed Prasad and Singh for the appointment process of the new party president in Gujarat.

Notably, the appointment of president is done for 3 years tenure.

Currently the party is organizing Sangathan Parv for appointment of new office bearers from booth to national level.

Pandya said that in Gujarat the new booth and Mandal committees have already been constituted and the appointment of district level committees including election of district and city presidents would be done shortly.

After that the process for appointment of new president would be taken up.

Currently, Bhavnagar MLA Jeetu Vaghani is the Gujarat BJP president.