BJP announces names of candidates for two seats Rajya Sabha election in Gujarat

Gandhinagar: Ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has announced its candidates for two-seat Rajya Sabha by-polls in Gujarat. They are Dinesh Prajapati (Dinesh Jemalbhai Anavadiya) and Rambhai Mokariya. As Congress party has not enough MLAs to get its candidate elected, it may stay away from fielding candidates. In that case, BJP will win both seats unopposed. Two seats of Rajya Sabha are vacant due to demise of Ahmed Patel and Abhay Bharadwaj. The candidate chosen for vacant seat of Ahmed Patel will get approximately three years term while one chosen for vacant seat of Abhay Bharadwaj will get nearly six year term. Rambhai Mokariya is a businessman from Porbandar who owns Maruti Courier Service as Chairman and Managing Director. He is based in Rajkot. He is Brahmin and may contest on vacant seat of late Abhay Bharadwaj, also a Brahmin from Rajkot. Dinesh Prajapati (Dinesh Anavadiya) is heading Bakshipanch (Other Backward Class or OBC) Morcha of Gujarat BJP. He is from Deesa in North Gujarat. He is also former Director of Gujarat State Road Transport Corporation (GSRTC).

Rambhai Mokariya

Dinesh Prajapati